All you need to know about the Jupiler Pro League Playoffs

By | April 5, 2015

Thibaut Courtois - a key player for Genk in the 2010-11 Playoffs (copyright John Chapman)

Thibaut Courtois – a key player for Genk in the 2010-11 Playoffs (copyright John Chapman)

The Jupiler Pro League Playoffs have been controversial since their introduction in the 2009-2010 season. The system, it that’s a legitimate word, was introduced to make the league more financially viable – more games between the big clubs – but in its current format it falsifies the league and the vast majority of fans would welcome its demise.
Modus operandi

It ‘works’ like this. In the regular season, the 16 league clubs play each other twice. The top six teams in the league then go into a pool that again play each other twice in a mini-championship. The six teams start that pool (‘Playoffs 1’) with – and this is the part that really makes a mockery of the Jupiler Pro League – just half of the points that they gained in the championship proper. After the required 30 ‘playoff’ games are completed, the winner of ‘Playoffs 1’ is declared champion and goes directly into the Champions League pool stage; the runners–up go into the qualification stages of that tournament, while the third-placed club enters the Europa League.

But that’s not all. At the end of the classic season, the teams that finish in positions 7th to 14th split into two groups of four. The top teams in each group then play each other (home and away) to determine the winner of the ‘Playoffs 2’. That team then meets the team finishing 4th in the ‘Playoffs 1’ with the prize being entry to the Europa League. This means that a team finishing 14th could eventually qualify for Europe; Racing Genk did just that in 2009-2010, the first season the playoffs were introduced, after finishing 11th in the league under Franky Vercauteren.

Club Brugge's Timmy Simons - has played most minutes for his club this season  ( Copyright John Chapman)

Club Brugge’s Timmy Simons – has played most minutes for his club this season ( Copyright John Chapman)

The icing on this somewhat messy cake is that, during this time, the teams finishing 15th and 16th play each other five times! This is the ‘Playoffs 3’, with the team finishing 15th having a three points start and being able to play three of the five-match series at home. Based on points accumulated after these five games, if all five are needed, the winner goes into – yet another – series of playoffs with the teams finishing 2nd, 3rd and 4th (more or less but it’s more complex than that) in the Belgian second division, to determine who will enter / stay in the Jupiler Pro League. The team losing the five games mini-series (between 15th and 16th) is relegated directly to the second division.

Playoff history (main playoffs only)

With the idea of the playoffs being to generate more cash from TV and gate receipts, the bigger clubs were not at all happy in 2009-10 when lesser lights Sint Truiden, Kortrijk and Zulte Waregem all qualified for the ‘Playoffs 1’. In the event, Anderlecht easily won both the classic season and the title.

The next season brought excitement and took two players to Chelsea: Thibaut Courtois and Kevin De Bruyne. Anderlecht won the 2010-11 season ‘proper’ by one point from Racing Genk, with Standard Liege 16 points adrift of the ‘champions’. Standard, led by Jelle Van Damme and Axel Witsel, then went through the playoffs unbeaten, winning eight of their 10 matches. With a Boussoufa-less Anderlecht (he moved to Russia in March of that season) dropping out of contention, it went down to the last game of the season at Genk, with Standard the visitors. Genk snatched a draw with Courtois performing brilliantly in the Genk goal. The rest, as they say, is history. Genk were champions with Courtois and coach Franky Vercauteren then going their different ways, leaving Genk to stumble into the Champions League, with De Bruyne staying at the club on loan from Chelsea.

The 2011-12 season’s playoffs were not particularly interesting with Anderlecht winning both the classic season and the title. The following season was different as there was another close finish. Zulte Waregem – with Thorgan Hazard – punched well above their weight to come within minutes of clinching the title in the final game at Anderlecht. In the event, Lucas Biglia equalised after Waregem had almost achieved the unthinkable by taking the lead at the Constant Vanden Stock stadium. The Brussels club therefore won the championship for the second successive season.

Anderlecht won the title last season with a late flourish in the playoffs.

Anderlecht won the title last season with a late flourish in the playoffs.

Anderlecht won again last season as Besnik Hasi took over the side just before the Playoffs and then led the Brussels club to its third successive title after it seemed that first Standard Liege and then Club Brugge looked to be certain winners.

Overall statistics

This season’s qualifiers are Standard Liege, Club Brugge, Anderlecht, Gent, Kortrijk and Charleroi. This gives the Playoffs a somewhat different look from the last two seasons. This means that two clubs (Anderlecht and Club Brugge) have qualified in all six seasons, Standard Liege have qualified in five seasons, Gent and Genk in four seasons, while three clubs (Zulte Waregem, Kortrijk and Lokeren) have qualified in three seasons. Sint Truiden and Charleroi have each qualified once for the Playoffs 1.

Anderlecht have won four of the five playoff titles (since 2009-2010) with Racing Genk winning the other one. Anderlecht have won the most playoff points (90), scored the most goals (87) and have the best points per game average (1.80).

One thought on “All you need to know about the Jupiler Pro League Playoffs

  1. Rafael

    I think your a little harsh on the system.
    It may not be perfect but it is still far better then the rest of European competitions.
    if you add up the number of matches featuring two clubs with realistic aspirations for claiming the title at that moment, you will discover that since mid-season ( match day 20 out of 40 including the playoffs ), there have been around 40 games like that.
    Try to accumulate this same feature from all top 20 European leagues combined this season, and you won’t achieve this staggering number.

    English, Spanish, Italian, German and Dutch leagues combined haven’t produced even 4 matches of the above features in the second half of the season.

    so i think the real scorn or laughing stock should be pointed at how we football fans were raised to accept the ‘classic’ system that is by all means a structure benefiting the rich, ever growing clubs with their ambition to be dominant and absolute, all along using a false pretense of sportsmanship and acknowledgement by gullible fans that ‘the way things are, are the way things are’…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *