Category Archives: JPL 2016-17

Anderlecht’s title on Sunday?

Sunday could be the day when the title returns to Anderlecht. The club that prides itself on being Belgium’s finest has not won the championship since 2014. Three years is a long time for Anderlecht to be without the title and the cash that comes with direct entry to the Champions League group stage. On… Read More »

Everything you need to know about the JPL Playoffs

Here’s all you need to know about the Belgian League Playoffs that start tonight. 1. Who is the Championship Playoffs? The six teams who qualified for the playoffs are Anderlecht, Club Brugge, Zulte Waregem, Oostende, Charleroi and Gent. Anderlecht and Club Brugge have always qualified under the playoff system since the introduction in 2009-10. It’s… Read More »

Countdown to the Playoffs in Belgium

The top six clubs in the Belgian first division qualify for the Championship Playoffs and so far Club Brugge and Anderlecht have crossed the line. Zulte Waregem just need a point and they should get that when they play Westerlo at home on Saturday. Oostende and Charleroi look good for two of the other places,… Read More »

Playoffs on the horizon – the JPL gets down and dirty

The Jupiler Pro League (JPL) starts tonight and Club Brugge lead the chasing pack by two points. That’s a telling comment on the quality of the league as the Blauw-Zwarts were one of only two clubs that lost all their games at the group stage of this season’s Champions’ League. The JPL has been a… Read More »

Anderlecht’s surprise move for Standard’s ex-captain

Adrien Trebel has joined Anderlecht from Standard Liege. There are no protests in the streets of Liege yet but fans of Les Rouches are never happy when their players move over to the Constant Vanden Stock stadium. The ex-Standard captain has been angling for a move for some time and the club recently refused to… Read More »

Club Brugge looking to retain their title

Although there have been changes in the structure of the professional game in Belgium, it looks like being the ‘same as usual’ next season with the ‘Big Five’ – Anderlecht, Club Brugge, Gent, Racing Genk and Standard Liège – challenging for honours. Last season, Michel Preud’homme’s Club Brugge took the title as they were the… Read More »