Official squad for Belgium in Brazil

By | May 13, 2014
Team captain Vincent Kompany (John Chapman copyright)

Team captain Vincent Kompany (John Chapman copyright)

Here’s the official list of 23 players (plus a possible keeper replacement) who will go to Brazil. My immediate reactions are:

a) Radja Nainggolan is the most unlucky of the players who could travel, especially as Timmy Simons is out.
b) The striking options seem limited – Divock Origi is untested; Kevin Mirallas will need to be ready to play up front.
c) The squad seems over-staffed on the right side of defence and under staffed on the left.
d) Great to see Anthony Vanden Borre make the squad after his many problems in the last few years.

Keepers (4)
Thibaut Courtois, Simon Mignolet, Silvio Proto/Koen Casteels

Defence (8)
Anthony Vanden Borre, Vincent Kompany, Thomas Vermaelen, Jan Vertonghen, Toby Alderweireld, Daniel Van Buyten, Nic Lombaerts, Laurent Ciman

Central midfield/wing (9)
Axel Witsel, Marouane Fellaini, Steven Defour, Moussa Dembélé, Nacer Chadli, Kevin De Bruyne, Dries Mertens, Eden Hazard, Adnan Januzaj,

Strikers (3)
Romelu Lukaku, Kevin Mirallas, Divock Origi

Standby (6)
Sébastien Pocognoli , Radia Nainggolan, Thorgan Hazard, Guillaume Gillet, Michy Batshuayi, Jelle Van Damme

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *